top of page

Kicking and screaming

I felt our babies’ first kick today. Well I think I did. My fiancé has been feeling little scratches and small kick from the inside of her belly for a couple of weeks now and even if I do say so myself I was kind of jealous.

It’s one of those things that just makes you feel a part of the process when you can feel a little living miracle growing inside a body. I wanted to feel I wanted to have the reality really sink in as she has done.

All those thoughts and feelings were pushed aside today as my fiancé called me and said “Kom voel hoe skop koalakie papa.” (Come and feel how koala is kicking.) One of those moments that was so exiting I had to put it in my our own language. As you have all probably realised koala is my nickname for our baby. Anyway, I rushed over and my fiancé place my hands where she felt the kick and I waited patiently, to scared to take a breath and miss the kick. Finally it came, even though my hand was probably only on her belly for seconds, it felt like hours.

There are no feelings that could compare to feeling your babies’ first kick. I have been trying to find a feeling to compare it to all day, but there simply is none. It is the single most inspiring feeling ever. The realisation that there is a sole being formed that is a combination of myself and my wonderful fiancé was immense. I suddenly had this feeling of doubt inside me as well. Will I be a good enough father, will I be able to provide for this little miracle? Luckily joy soon overcame me again when I felt a second kick. I cannot wait to meet our child and just hold them, not say anything inspiring, not dare them to one day be great, just hold them and love them.

Here is to hoping more kicks will follow soon….


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
BabyDaddyBlog Meet
Meet the Baby Daddy 

I am...

bottom of page